h1

Baked Sunday Mornings: Monkey Bubble Bread

December 19, 2010

Let’s just say if it’s not too warm anywhere and your pan is very insulated, you’ll have a good time waiting hours for breakfast that ends up waiting until noon. Also do not throw the bread when flipping the pan over to invert the bread….you will break it, and it will not be pretty, and despite your best efforts to play building blocks, it will never feel the same so you hide it from pictures.

This is pretty fun to make, pretty time consuming but totally awesome. I am here to say it is possible to make this without any sort of paddle or bread hook attachments for a mixer. So don’t let that keep you from making it, I used the spiral beaters from mine…I have no idea what that ~official~ name is but they worked just fine. I just had to add a tablespoon or two of flour for the dough to be perfect.

It tastes amazing. Thankfully I easily get sick of the flavor so after 4 pieces I am done. My boyfriend on the other hand is a whole different story…now I just want lunch as I’m finally finishing this.

To see other people’s monkey bread, head over to the Baked Sunday Mornings entry for it!

5 comments

  1. It looks great! I had a little bit of a hassle after I inverted mine because I initially inverted it onto a plate that was too small for it and it was fun trying to move it over onto a larger platter. It’s worth the trouble, though, isn’t it?


    • I had to flip it onto a baking sheet because there was nothing else big enough I knew of off the top of my head! At least that made it easier to put back into the oven when I realized the top needed just a little more time. It’s definitely worth the trouble, I was not expecting to like it so much!


  2. I totally agree – it takes a little time and gets tiring dipping, rolling, etc – but well worth it! Looks wonderful – and yes, be careful when flipping – ouch! A delicious ouch, but still an ouch!


    • It took a bit of time to get all the brown sugar out from under my nails..but it was worth it because my hands smelled like sugar. I wasn’t prepared at all for how much the pan was going to weigh with the bread in there, plus the heat of the oven, so yes….better to lose the perfect shape than burn an arm!


  3. That Monkey Bread looks delicious! I always cheat and use canned biscuits but I bet this is much better!! Can’t wait to give it a try.



Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.