h1

Review: Leon's Full Service

September 19, 2009

From the moment I laid eyes on the wrench door handle on the door into Leon’s Full Service, I knew I was going to like this place. Since it was a Friday night, and we got there at about 7pm, we had to wait a bit for a table. Not really a problem, for once in several days the sun had finally been out, which meant it wasn’t raining, and it all around felt good to be outside. Joe and I went over to the bocce ball court and awaited our feet being hit by some overly excited child playing. Luckily that did not happen, every time I was certain the ball was going to bounce out and come at me, it magically was stopped by the wooden border even though it looked physically impossible.
If you are seated inside, you have to be okay with not hearing yourself think. It is loud in here. One look at the ceiling showed why that was: it was entirely wooden. The bathroom? Silent. At first it was a bit annoying but whatever, it’s hard to avoid. First thing I ordered was a glass of cider, Scrumpy’s Cider was the name, and Strongbow, I will probably never look at you the same way again. This stuff is amazing, although probably dangerous because there is absolutely no way to taste the alcohol whatsoever. Funny enough, when I was on my second glass, this place was so busy our server never noticed that I had even had a first glass. She asked me if I didn’t like it and I was like, “Are you kidding? I LOVE it!”
We started off with peppadews stuffed with goat cheese. This was good. This was so good that even in words it was good. I had gotten a text message from a friend about a minute into these things being on our table of “I’m at a diner eating jalapenos stuffed with cheddar.” I of course replied with what I was eating and the next message was of course, “that sounds way better.” I admit I went on a search for peppadews today without much luck. Just the flavor of those peppers alone was so good, and I’m not normally a fan of sweet peppers. I really could have even done without the goat cheese, but that just provided an extra bonus of flavor.
I ordered their cheeseburger, made with grass fed beef, along with pub frites and massaman curry sauce, and Joe ordered the bistro steak sandwich with the frites and the goat cheese fondue sauce. When you first look at the burger it doesn’t seem like it’s very big, and then you get started eating. I was so full, and I wasn’t expecting it at all. I’m guessing they make their own ketchup, as some different varieties are available as sauces, because normally I hate ketchup on burgers and I would have just eaten that by itself on this burger. Otherwise it wasn’t really something that stood out but that’s probably my fault for ordering a burger. (I rest all blame on my boyfriend, who told me I couldn’t order the bistro steak sandwich cause he was. And then he didn’t even offer me any of it, so I didn’t ask him how it was. I may have had to steal it if he said it was good.) The massaman curry sauce though was awesome. I don’t get massaman curry at Thai places very often, but this made me want some (that’s an entry tomorrow) or just want some made based on this sauce. I’d even say it was a better sauce than the last place I went to for curry. The goat cheese fondue wasn’t bad either. I caught Joe dipping the bread from his sandwich into it.
I would have loved to have had the liege waffle but I was so full. There is a high possibility that I will be back, making sure my stomach has the room for it.

Leon's Full Service on Urbanspoon

One comment

  1. […] that obvious dry taste to it. JK Scrumpy’s Cider (Michigan, 5.5%): First place I had this was Leon’s Full Service and I had decided that it was better than Strongbow. Well, a week later I found it in Whole Foods […]



Comments are closed.