h1

Mocha Ice Cream

April 6, 2010

It feels totally weird that for the first time in my life, I am not with my parents for Easter. I am not even going to church, and I probably won’t until a certain higher up in the Catholic Church just resigns. Anyway, that’s not what this post is about. I spent a couple of days wondering if I should just drive back to Chattanooga, but I really didn’t want to. I have too much going on to spend 1/6 of a day driving to/from Atlanta. At the same time, even though I won’t actively go to church, I still want to celebrate Easter since I’ve been doing that for the past 22 years of my life, and that always involves good food. So Joe and I are improvising. The only thing that was actively planned was ice cream. I asked what flavor, he said mocha, and mocha was indeed found.


Cream and espresso beans steeping

It was SO good, I was tasting it as it was moving about in the ice cream maker. It was like having an amazing iced mocha.

Mocha ice cream from Christie’s Corner
1 1/2 cups whipping cream (35%)
3/4 cup sugar
pinch salt
1 1/2 cups whole espresso beans
6 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped
1 1/2 cups whole milk
1 tsp vanilla

1. Warm the cream, sugar, salt and whole beans in a medium sauce pan over medium heat. Bring just to the boil, remove from the heat, cover and steep for 1 hour.
2. Strain the cream mixture to remove the coffee beans then return the cream to the pot and set aside.
3. Melt the chocolate gently in a small bowl.
4. Return the cream to the heat and bring just to the boil again.
5. Whisk in the melted chocolate. Then whisk in the milk and vanilla.
6. Pour the entire mixture into a blender and puree for 30 seconds so it’s very smooth.
7. Chill the mixture in the refrigerator until cold.
8. Freeze in an ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions. Return to freezer to finish chilling.

I only let it sit in the freezer for maybe 3 hours after it went through the ice cream maker, and it was the consistency of gelato more than ice cream. Since I let Joe keep it, I’m sure it no longer exists, so I cannot confirm its transformation to something more solid, bahahaha.

One comment

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Amanda. Amanda said: new blog post! Mocha Ice Cream: It feels totally weird that for the first time in my life, I am not with my parent… http://bit.ly/bIfzKU […]



Comments are closed.