h1

Tea Popsicles

April 21, 2010

I was staring at my rather large collection of tea.

Exhibit A: the loose leaf

Exhibit B: the international tea bag collection

It’s becoming more and more like the time for iced tea, and I noticed my popsicle molds all over the place…and it clicked together. Tea popsicles would be absolutely fantastic.
It doesn’t matter if you use loose leaf or bagged tea. I made 3 each of two different black teas: half are the Thai tea blend loose leaf, half are made with the raspberry Russian tea bags at the bottom of the second picture.

All you need to do is prepare about 24 ounces of tea. You may end up with some extra to drink, and that of course is perfectly fine, right? Follow your normal brewing directions for whatever tea you choose, then let it cool a bit. You can sweeten the tea if you prefer, mine have a bit of honey added even though normally I like my tea as is. Once the tea has cooled a bit, pour into your popsicle mold, and place them in the freezer.

They’re a bit too much like eating ice cubes than popsicles, so if that’s not appealing to you, you might also want to add milk.

