h1

Frozen Yogurt Mania

May 26, 2010

In case you are in Atlanta and happen to live under a rock, Pinkberry is opening up here in a month’s time. Red Mango was awarding franchises in the area, and if they did in fact do any such thing, perhaps by the end of the year we’ll see them popping up. Some chain called Menchie’s has two locations, with more to come. Yoforia is expanding, and there’s several other options. Not going to say much about it but Pinkberry has been the best tasting out of all I’ve tried….pomegranate froyo + Fruity Pebbles cereal…try it when they open, TRUST ME.
But sometimes, you just wanna make some yogurt at home. This doesn’t always require an ice cream machine: a popsicle mold is a perfectly good way to make frozen yogurt too in the form of yogurt pops. I’ve been going a bit crazy lately making my own stuff, so consider this part one, because the experimentation is definitely not stopping here.

First up, I made blackberry lime frozen yogurt in my ice cream maker. It was okay, for some reason the flavor of the yogurt was stronger than I would have liked because it overpowered everything else. A bit more sugar might solve that, or maybe not eating a couple blackberries first… also if you want to save some for later, add a tablespoon of vodka. It’s not enough to get anyone tipsy obviously, but it will help keep the yogurt from becoming rock solid…believe me.


Blackberry Lime Frozen Yogurt
1 half pint package of blackberries
Juice of half a lime
1/4 cup sugar
2 cups Greek yogurt (I used 2%)

Freeze the container of your ice cream maker for at least 12-24 hours.
Place blackberries in bowl, add lime juice and sugar. Let macerate for at least ten minutes. Then, smash away until they don’t look like berries anymore. Add the yogurt and mix well.
Pour yogurt mixture into ice cream maker and let it run until the yogurt resembles soft serve ice cream. Serve immediately.

Next up, I wanted to make popsicles because I kind of went crazy on frozen yogurt supplies at Trader Joe’s that day. I pretty much winged this, and this should be enough to fill 6 popsicles if you have a mold like this. I am really unsure about how much liquid they hold…you can always just drink the leftover mixture like me.


Pomegranate Lemon Yogurt Pops
2 cups 2% Greek yogurt
6 oz pomegranate juice
Juice of half a lemon
1/4 cup vanilla sugar (add more if you want them sweeter)
2 oz 2% milk
1 tbsp orange liqueur

Combine all ingredients, pour into a popsicle mold and let freeze overnight.

More to come, I have 3 cups of yogurt in my fridge!

